top of page

BREAK OFF THAT LIE

In my brief journey as a Christian thus far, there’s a spot I’ve been over and over and I really pray I don’t ever find myself again. It’s that spot where I discover that I’d not only distanced myself from God, I’d also strayed and done something sinful! That’s the exact spot you are if you’ve backslidden.


However, as someone who’s been there more times than I’m proud of, I’ve learned to take a note from each occurrence and keep it in mind so I don’t repeat the same mistake twice. Honestly, not only has that alongside the enabling grace of God made me a better and firmer Christian, it has taught me a whole lot.

One of the lessons I’ve learned from that aspect of my life is what I will be sharing with you today.


Do you know that the devil thrives on a certain lie he tells whenever a child of God derails?

Do you know that there’s no better time for that lie to sink in than that time when you’re at your lowest because you’ve disappointed God? And guess what’s more? The devil knows it too.


More so, do you know the difference between the Christian who sinned and ran back to Cross and the one who stays in the backslidden state sometimes is that, while the latter fell for the devil’s lie and blackmail, the former knew better and was able to shut up the devil?

What’s this lie? That God doesn’t love you anymore! That He’s so mad at you, He doesn’t want to hear a peep from you. Some people fall for this lie because they don’t know better, thus staying perpetually in the backslidden state. But you should know it’s a lie! A lie from the pit of hell where the liar has been destined for and he wants desperately to take you with him!


Don’t fall for it! God loves you and that did not change because you fell. What He hates is the sin, not you! And all He wants is for you to come back to him like the prodigal son. Like the Father of the prodigal son, he’s waiting earnestly and expectantly for your return and when He sees the slightest shift of your heart in His direction, He’ll send Mercy running down to you!


The devil knows this and so he’ll do everything within his means to keep you defeated, making you think God hates you and doesn’t want you anymore.

Break off from that lie! And return to the Savior today. Confess your wrong deeds and ask for pardon and forgiveness through the blood of Jesus Christ. Ask God to restore you to His fold and to restore His Holy Spirit into you to guide and direct your steps. Ask Him for the grace not to make the same mistake twice.


If you do this, your peace will be restored and God will dump your wrongs into a sea of forgetfulness! You’ll be as good as new to Him and His joy will fill you with unimaginable strength!


The grace of the Lord Jesus is with you as you take this bold step. Amen.

See you at the feet of Christ!


Yours truly, Spirit Pen!

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page