top of page

HUMANISM: HAPPINESS OUTSIDE GOD

A few days ago, I checked an old friend’s profile picture on Whatsapp and her cloth had writing that reads “Do more of what makes you happy”. While I am an advocate of human happiness myself and at the same time careful of not casting an attack on an individual or the brand of that cloth, let me try to present a rather Biblical view of the matter.

The writing in itself can be applied on different grounds without offending right or left. However, please follow me as I draw up a perspective. The attention of the world today has been drawn toward self-happiness and other concepts surrounding it is somewhat a dangerous manner that the idea of God (in the picture) is gradually (constantly) being removed. While I am not against human happiness, for even God wants you and I to be happy, I am however wary of doing it outside the perspective of God.


Robert Ashby described humanism as an approach to life-based on reason and our common humanity, recognizing that moral values are properly founded on human nature and experience alone. If this description is true, where then is God? Look carefully as Robert removed anything ‘God’ from his perspective of humanity. Yet, removing God from the picture means removing the very essence of our being; for you cannot understand happiness if you do not first understand purpose and purpose will be obscure without a Creator. I would rather that, humanism is all of man’s fulfillment within His Creator.


Instead of always trying to remove God from the picture, why not try to see the picture from God’s window? The Scriptures is not against your happiness or wealth or riches, it only gives you such liberty within God’s parameters. Paul wrote to the Galatians that although they are free (free to be happy, free to be rich, etc.), they should not use their freedom outside God to please the flesh.


What many people think is that what makes God happy will be so hard and will not make them happy. However, consider that actually, what makes God happy is the consummation (fulfillment and perfection) of your own happiness; when you define happiness within God it makes you complete. Jesus said you will know the truth (He is the Truth) and the truth (Jesus) will make you free. In other words, Jesus was putting true freedom within His window. It is in the Truth (Jesus) that you have the real freedom, the real happiness. Paul also wrote to the Philippians about his ability within Christ; I can do all things through Christ who enables me. I can be happy (through Christ), I can get wealth (through Christ), I can have a good marriage (through Christ); I can have all things through and within Christ.



2 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page